Twitter Stream Mysterious 401:Unauthorized Status with Oauth and Clock Issue

I’ve been facing the following problem with Twitter Stream while using Python: The REST API was working fine, but the Stream API was returning me 401:Unauthorized.

Both, REST and Stream were working fine when using curl with the command provided by the Oauth tool, but while I was trying to make it work with Python, I was not being successful at all, only receiving the 401-thing. At that point nothing seemed to be strange, the response header was:

Content-Type: text/html
WWW-Authenticate: Basic realm="Firehose"
Cache-Control: must-revalidate,no-cache,no-store
Content-Length: 1505
Connection: close

After 2 months struggling with that problem, I discovered that Twitter API will return 401 if your clock is not synchronized. To solve this you need to execute ntpdate. On Ubuntu you can execute the following command:

sudo ntpdate ntp.ubuntu.com

and I guess that you will be able to connect with the Twitter Stream again. On the end, I discovered that this happened because I’ve moved to a different country, and I changed only my clock, without changing my Zone Time. I discovered this because the hour on my clock changed to the one from my home country when I used ntpdate. If this is your case, and you are using Ubuntu, change your Zone Time with the following comand:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure tzdata

Well, I learned a bunch of things in a row🙂

Leave a Reply

