Correct cedilla in english keyboard

The layout of my keyboard is “USA Alternative international (former us_intl)”, so it does not has cedilla and other minor differences. Furthermore, even if I set the language to portuguese (br) when I press the combination [acute accent] + [C] it gives me Ć/ć instead of Ç/ç. Since I have to make it every time I format my notebook I automate the file changes using sed, but you can also open and change file using either editor (e.g gedit, kate). The turnaround is showed below:

sudo sed -i 's/wa/wa:en/' /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodule-files.d/libgtk2.0-0.immodules
sudo sed -i 's/Ć/Ç/' /usr/share/X11/locale/en_US.UTF-8/Compose
sudo sed -i 's/ć/ç/' /usr/share/X11/locale/en_US.UTF-8/Compose

You should restart gdm after to apply changes.

sudo /etc/init.d/gdm restart

See ya

One Response to Correct cedilla in english keyboard

  1. Emanuel says:

    In Ubuntu 11.04 the path of immodule file (first file) has changed to: /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules, while the compose file path (second file) didn’t change.

Leave a Reply

